Vietnam tourist visa exemption for additional five countries started in July 2015

Vietnam has just waived Vietnam tourist visa requirements for citizens of five European countries, starting July 1.

The visa-free travel policy will be applicable to German, French, British, Italian, and Spanish visitors, with an allowed 15-day stay for each entry, according to the document. The unilateral Vietnam tourist visa exemption for 5 European countries is expected to create good favor for citizens of those country to travel to Vietnam, and then will play an important role in increasing number of tourists from those countries. The decision is welcomed by travel agencies and tour operators.

The policy is set to become effective from July 1st 2015 to June 30th 2016. Accordingly, all citizens of these countries are permitted to enter Vietnam without a Vietnam tourist visa for 15 days regardless of purpose of visit, kind of passport.

However, please keep in mind that there is a restriction on the time duration between your two entries if you use the visa exemption. It is important to take note that there must be a gap of at least 30 days between two entries if the visitors want to re-enter Vietnam under the visa waiver program. In other words, if you would like to visit Vietnam for multiple time in 30 days, you can only use the exempted visa for once and apply for a new Vietnam tourist visa on arrival for the next entries as normal.

With addition of United Kingdom, France, Germany, Italy and Spain, Vietnam has raised the number of countries that eligible for Vietnam visa exemption from 16 to 21 countries. Please check our Vietnam visa exemption list to see full list of countries granted visa-free access to Vietnam.

Any questions about Vietnam tourist visa for European citizens please send to [email protected].